About Katsina United FC

First started out as a privately-owned club, Katsina United Football Club, formerly Katsina Spotlight, was reorganised in 2009 by the owners and financiers of the club Katsina State Government.

‘The Changi Boys’ aim to be a fully professional club who will provide gainful means of employment to talented youths and also be a platform to discover and mould youngsters.

A Junior or feeder team also campaign in the country’s third-tier league, the Nationwide League.

At the beginning of the 2015/16 season, the club’s name was formally changed to Katsina United Football United to better portray the team’s identity, values and unity of the good people of the state.

A new Board of Trustees and Management for the rebranded Katsina United were formed in January 2016.

The Board of Trustees is chaired by the Deputy Governor, His Excellency Alhaji Mannir Yakubu with Honourable Commissioner of Sports and Social Development as Vice Chairman; Senior Special Assistant Sports Alhaji Aminu Balele Kurfi as Secretary; Executive Director of Sports Alhaji Nalado Iro Kankia and Alhaji Umar Aliyu as members.

The management is headed by SSA to the Executive Governor on Sports, Alhaji Aminu Balele Kurfi, with Alhaji Sani Tinau as Secretary.

For the 2015/16 season of the Nigeria National League played on an abridged basis, Katsina United won Division A1 to earn promotion to the NPFL.

They topped the table with 26 points from 14 matches.

The other teams in this section of the league were Mighty Jets, Sokoto United, Jigawa Golden Stars, Kaduna United, Kogi United, Shekarau Babes and FC YarmaLight.


Both Katsina United and the Junior team represented Katsina State in the Federation Cup national preliminaries.

The Junior team reached the Round of 64 after they defeated Niger Tornadoes, but lost to NPFL side El Kanemi Warriors in the next round of the cup competition.

Katsina United, on the hand, got as far as the Round of 16 after they beat Kogi United and NPFL side MFM FC.

They lost rather controversially to the eventual winners of the competition FC Ifeanyi Ubah.

2016 NNL SUPER 4

Katsina United stormed into the final of the Nigeria National League (NNL) Super 4 after they bashed Remo Stars 3-0 in their opening game.

Katsina led 1-0 before they ensured a big win after the interval with two more goals against the youthful Remo Stars in Gombe.

‘The Changi Boys’ emerged the overall winners of the Nigeria second-tier league, the Nigeria National League, after they pipped ABS FC 4-2 on penalties after 1-1 in regulation time.

Katsina topped the championship playoff with Remo Stars finishing third after they also defeated Gombe United on penalties in a classification game.

Remo Stars won 3-1 on penalties after scores were tied at 1-1.

Katsina United came from a goal down to level scores with ABS FC in the 69 minute through Bidemi Abdulwahab.


The Karkanda Stadium was renamed Muhammadu Dikko Stadium in 2016 after the late Emir of Katsina who brought so much developments in education to the emirate.

Built by the Chinese, it’s an all-sports 35,000-capacity arena and it was opened in 2013.